My Dad is a Civil Rights Pioneer?

Posted: October 5, 2014 in Dad
Tags: , , , , ,

VIDEO: EEOC Discrimination Suit

Yep. This transgender woman in this story is my dad.  Previous posts have discussed my dad’s coming out and the impact its had on me.

Let me start by saying that I’ve probably not been the best of sons to him.  I’ve tried to be supportive, but it’s been quite a while since I’ve talked to him.  I feel bad about that.  Its not because I feel particularly odd about his life, it’s more because I’ve been so wrapped up in my own life that staying in contact with family has ended up moving out of a front and center place.

I will say that I guess I’m kind of proud of Dad for owning who he is.  Taking this place to court for such a blatant case of discrimination is likely what they deserve.

I guess I’ll try and reach out to Dad again pretty soon.  I do want him to know that I still care and that I hope he finds happiness in his new life.

Comments
  1. carol says:

    Hey Ernie…

    It’s Welly (Carol) from the old ModChat forum.

    I just read your FB update and that led me to your blog.

    I am rooting in my own way for you and your dad and family. I hope to be able to read more later. I’ve added your blog to my blog roll in order to be able to read when you post a new blog piece.

    Good thoughts your way.

    • Ernie B. says:

      Thanks, Carol. I guess we’ve been in the same circles for a very long time now. Thanks for adding me to your blog roll. As you see from the dates, I’m kind of sporadic in my posting. I’m hoping to be a bit more regular. I always seem to do better overall when I use this medium for my self-expression.

Leave a Reply

