New Beginnings

Posted: April 22, 2012 in L'Chelle, Mom, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Last night, my wife, my grandson, and myself went to the Naples Relay for Life.  It was a great experience.  I hope to be able to do more in participation next year.  When we got there, we had one hell of a time finding a place to park.  After we parked, we found our way to the HMA tent.  It was a bit moving to see the names of those who have succumbed to cancer as well as the names of those still fighting.  My mother’s name, Lydia, as well as Susan’s friend Sonja’s name were among the pennants. We met several friends and then embarked on our tour of the track and the booths from all the participants

We made a few rounds and spent plenty of money (it IS for a good cause, after all).  Eventually, the sun went down and it was time for the lighting of the luminary.  As the MC spoke about all of those who we’ve lost to the “big C,” it really hit me just how many of our friends and family have had their lives cut short due to this disease.  I began to remember how Mom suffered and lost her ability to speak before the disease ran its course.  The waterworks began to flow.  

I guess part of the opening of the floodgates can be attributed to the fact that, while I was enjoying hearing about survivors, I’d already visited my sister, L’Chelle – who is so very ill with cervical cancer.  I’d also just received an urn for her cremains after she succumbs to the cancer.  All in all, it was a very emotionally demanding day.  
vendor booths at the Relay for Life

Fed Ex booth at Relay for Life of Naples

Colby with Cleopatra & King Tut

HMA’s version of this year’s theme “Digging for a Cure.”

The Luminary Ceremony (sorry for the blur).


Leave a comment